Aims of the Graduate Program

The Niigata College of Nursing Graduate Nursing Program (Master Course) was established in April of 2006. In the Graduate Program, in order to further promote "exploration of nursing science rooted in local culture", and to heighten the quality of nursing care and nursing science, we aim to contribute to society through the development of practical and empirical education and research. We have established a system of long-term study and offer classes on Saturdays and Sundays, allowing even those who are in full-time employment to further their studies through us. And for those seeking to take the next step up in their nursing careers, we also offer classes aimed at gaining qualifications as a Certified Nursing Specialist.

Admission Policy to the Graduate Program

Niigata College of Nursing seeks students with the following qualities for its Graduate Program :

Contribution to the local community: Those who aim to contribute to the improvement of health, medicine and welfare within the community

Specialization: Those who try to acquire outstanding abilities in nursing practice and advanced knowledge based on nursing specialization

Research: Those who display a clear intention to explore in depth issues arising from nursing practice

Leadership: Those who are willing to contribute as a leader in education, research and nursing practice activity

Features of the Graduate Program (Master Course)

① Configuration of subjects and nursing specialist areas

Graduate program courses consist of the 3 areas of 'The Field of Basic Nursing', 'The Field of Common Foundation', and 'The Specialized Fields'.

'The Field of Basic Nursing' is made up of 5 compulsory subjects, and in order to cultivate specialist practical nursing skills, they form the foundation of each of the specialized fields.

'The Field of Common Foundation' constitutes 10 elective subjects, providing students with a wide range of insights and offering multi-disciplinary perspectives and learning opportunities that can be put to use in nursing practice.

'The Specialized Fields' consist of the 9 domains of Nursing Management, Basic Nursing, Maternity and Child Health Nursing, Pediatric Nursing, Adult Health Nursing, Oncology Nursing, Gerontological Nursing, Psychiatric Nursing, and Community Health Nursing, each of which is studied through between 4 to 8 taught courses and practical seminars. In regard to assignments and research in each domain, students are able to deepen both their practical and theoretical understanding by choosing to explore their own particular areas of interest.

② Certified Nursing Specialist (CNS) Courses

The following subjects are designed specifically to support students in their efforts to gain qualifications as a CNS.
Our Graduate Program, as an educational training institution for CNS qualifications, had CNS training courses in the fields of Oncology Nursing and Community Health Nursing certified in 2008, and began offering a CNS training course in the field of Gerontological Nursing from 2012.

Specialist Field (Domain) Certified Nursing
Specialist (CNS) Qualification
Oncology Nursing Studies Oncology Nursing
Community Health Nursing Studies Community Health Nursing
Gerontological Nursing Studies Gerontological Nursing
③ Adult Education

The 14th article of the Standards for Establishment of Graduate Schools allows for the provision of classes and research guidance at night or at another specific time through special teaching methods. Our Graduate Program employs special teaching methods that are tailored to provide an environment that meets the needs of adult students.

④ Long-Term Study Option

For the benefit of those who find that because of professional or other lifestyle commitments, the standard two year period of graduate study is difficult, our Graduate Program offers a long-term study option of 3 years.


Page Top
Page Top